Some how… some way… it is already week two of the Winter Quarter and the seemingly everlasting 6 week Winter break has been all but forgotten. The days of sleeping in, reading non-academic literature, spending entire days watching football, etc… are long gone. Let me tell you what the first week and a half of quarter #2 has been like as it is likely to resemble your future time here at Korbel.

First the low down on what it looks like for me this quarter. I am…
1. Taking 18 credit hours
2. Working 15 hours each week in the admissions office
3. Working 10 hours each week at my internship with iEmpathize in Boulder
4. Spending time with my wife, friends, and dog

Maybe this will change in my 3rd and 4th quarter but thus far I see a trend of it taking about 1-2 weeks to figure out a routine that allows me to finish the readings/assignments assigned for each course in the small windows of time I have open after what is listed above. Mainly this work load leaves me a couple evenings free to do a few hours of reading and then as much time as I can handle on the weekend.

I didn’t realize this during my first quarter until it was too late, but another trend is that you really should have time to maintain a social life for the first few weeks, and then again for a week or two after midterms. Luckily I have been able to take advantage of the valuable time this past weekend. By this I mean celebrating Tebow’s heroic overtime win over the Steelers. As you can tell I love football, but feel free to imagine yourself snowboarding, hiking, watching movies, etc.

Here is the scary part though… Since I am a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer, I am trying to finish in 4 quarters. I just met with Susan Rivera, the director of Student Affairs at the Josef Korbel School, and mapped out the rest of my time here! I feel like I just started and the end is already somewhat in sight!!! On one hand that is great as I am anxious to dive into a career that allows me to utilize all that I am learning now, but on the other hand I love the courses offered here and want to take more than I will be able to.

Well, now that I am back into a routine here you can expect more frequent updates. Hopefully this information will help you understand what to expect as future Korbelites!

Leave a comment