NYC

The Office of Career and Professional Development at the Josef Korbel School organizes networking trips to NYC, DC, and Boston each year. During these trips their staff guides graduate students around the cities in an effort to expose us to numerous organizations that are of interest to us for future internships and/or jobs. At each organization a representative will discuss what kind of internships and jobs they offer, the work that they are doing, and how to be competitive when applying. As NYC is home to many Human Rights organizations, I have signed up to attend this trip which will take place during the winter break. This will be my first trip to NYC so I am taking any and all recommendations. One aspect that I love so much about Colorado, Denver, and the Josef Korbel School is that suits are not often required. In fact I cannot remember the last time I put one on. So the toughest realization for me about this trip is that I will have to pull out my one and only suit, see if it still fits, and probably purchase one or two more before the trip.

Midterms are still hovering. At midnight tomorrow my first graduate paper is due! The paper is an in depth report on the conflict between Somalia’s Transitional Federal Government and Al Shabaab. I am hoping to work with Somalia/the Horn of Africa after my studies are completed, so having the freedom to cater my studies towards this region has been ideal. Unfortunately the conflict has been taking dramatic shifts in the past couple months which have forced many alterations to m report. So as the paper is nearly complete, Kenya decides to begin their own offensive, inside of Somalia, against Al Shabaab and require yet another revision! Tomorrow is sure to be a late night.

On a lighter note, I would just like to point out to everyone that the San Francisco 49ers are 5-1. Thank you.

Have a great week,

Michael Smith

Leave a comment