Relaxation, Results, and the Remainder

As a Josef Korbel Student you will have the opportunity to make great friends and get invited to their family cabins up in the Rockies. In fact this is what I did this past weekend. Maybe sacrificing a weekend with only 2 weeks left in the academic quarter isn’t the best idea, but I viewed it as a way to recharge my batteries for the last push.

I’ve mentioned some of the papers I have had to write during the quarter thus far, and I am happy to report that I have received an A- on both of them! As it is my first quarter here I am relieved to have these grades under my belt, and know that I am on the right track. I have seen a huge learning curve evolve for me this quarter. It takes a while to understand how much you actually need to read, how much time you need to put into your papers, how quickly you can write, how much time you can “take off” from doing coursework, etc. I finally feel that I have a good rhythm down and I feel much better about the coming quarters.

Speaking of the coming quarters, we recently registered for our winter courses. I’ll be taking 18 credits again, and the courses I registered for are… Introduction to Human Rights, International Project Analysis, Humanitarian Aid in Complex Emergencies, and Civil Wars: The International Response II. From talking with 2nd year students, I am expecting another challenging quarter, but it has to happen. Fortunately, the Spring quarter finishes just before Thanksgiving and the Winter Quarter does not begin until after the New Year, so there is plenty of time to mentally prepare (aka enjoy your new friends’ mountain cabins) for what is ahead.

Saludos!

Leave a comment